Hey guys!

Today I would like to talk about decks and how I create them.

When I create a deck I have a general idea of what I want the deck to be. I usually start with either control, aggro or midrange. Depending on which I choose I determine the mana curve of the deck.

For aggro I would not go higher than say, 4 mana, and maybe put just a few cards (5 or less) into >5 mana slots.

For midrange I would curve at 4 or 5 mana and not go higher than that for the higher slots.

But for control I would not care what my mana curve would be. For control it would be more important what cards I put in my deck. I would be totally fine with forsaking the early game in favor of taking control of the lategame. But I would have to keep that in mind when I play the game and plan every move for the lategame (I will write an article about this later).

After determining the theme and mana curve I would think about what cards I want in the deck. There are a lot of cards available and there will always be more than 50 cards that you want in your deck. It’s very important to focus on the big picture here, include only the cards that truly contribute to the theme of the deck. You might have some cards that you want in your deck, but if they do not contribute to the theme of the deck, it’s better to let them go. You can always include them in another deck! See my post “how to stick to 50 cards, focus on the big picture” for more thoughts on this method.

When you finished your deck the first thing you must realized is that you did not finish your deck, and that you probably never will! You see, the deck that you finished might be a great deck, and I have no doubt that it is. But the fact is that all decks have weaknesses and it is only through testing the deck in duels that you find the weaknesses of your deck.

So after you finish building your deck you are not done! The next step is testing the deck. And testing the deck. And testing the deck some more. Every deck that is considered viable has been through numerous testing games.

I started with playing 50 games after I build a deck. After every game I would write the number of the game I am at and some notes about what went wrong, or good in that game. By doing this you will actively search for weaknesses and strengths of your deck, which you can translate into adding cards that either make up for the weaknesses, or compliment the strengths even further.

After the 50 games you should have a good, iterated deck. But you can do another 50 games to get an even better deck. All good decks start from the bottom, through practice games you can improve them.

I hope you enjoyed this article & Happy deckbuilding!

 

Leave a Reply

