Hello dear readers,

A few weeks ago I was quite frustrated while streaming The Elder Scrolls Legends. I had just finished a season at rank 1 (not legend) and was placed at rank 5 (again not legend) the season after that. But it wasn’t the fact that I didn’t hit legend that frustrated me.

It was the fact that apparently everyone in rank 5(!) was playing god tier decks with legendary’s, perfectly synergized etc. It was very obvious that everyone was netdecking. Now I don’t really mind people netdecking, as long as they are good at the deck they play. But that is beside the point.

So there I was, kept losing to decks over and over again. Smashing my fists on the desk in despair, not knowing why I kept losing. Everytime I had to click the concede button I felt more and more frustrated. But then I realized something.

On some turn before the end turn I realized I had a choice between two plays, both equally good to me. And I realized that I had absolutely no idea what choice I should make! This was because I was too inexperienced against the certain deck I was facing (and probably the playstyle of the opponent). And so I thought my hardest and made the decision I was comfortable with before the timer ran out.

The turns passed and I made decision after decision until the inevitable last turn. Where my opponent did the one thing that crushed my very soul (not literally though), he swarmed the board with creatures. And when he ended his turn and I drew my card I knew, this game is over, I lost yet again.

But did I really lose that game at the last turn? The answer is simple, no. The fact is, I actually lost the game with a decision I made earlier, I could have traded, but instead I went face. And that allowed my opponent to remove my minion with a spell and develop his board even further (okay I have to admit that this is not exactly how it went, but something like that).

So it was NOT the last turn, or even the turn before the last turn that determined my demise. No, it was the turn, somewhere in the middle of the game, that I made a decision that snowballed into my defeat.

So next time, dear readers, when you realize you are defeated. Try to reflect on the turns before the last turn and figure out where it went wrong. Or, even better, try to conciously pay attention to your decisions and see how they pan out in the long run. Even tracking one, important decision will help you in future games.  If you can even think of one thing that you can improve, then you have essentially won the duel. Because you have learned a valuable lesson from defeat!

Happy dueling!

Leave a Reply

